Defining the typical Christian woman

What is a typical Christian woman?

I astounded a recent friend of mine by announcing one of my favorite albums. The Downward Spiral by Nine Inch Nails. 

Why were they astounded?

Because I am very proud and open about being a Christian woman.

It was not expected that I would listen to this type of music.  The lyrics in some of this albums songs have such a an intimate struggle with God. In a very real way, I am jealous that the writer is so candid. How many of us ever take the time to put those feelings down on paper and then go one step further to sing to God and the world about them. Very bold indeed.

Am I a typical Christian woman?

Well, I don’t know that there is such a thing.

I don’t attend church every week yet I have attended many Christian music festivals and make it a priority to find what God is telling me through my everyday life. 

Today, he challenged me to dig deep and I accepted that challenge.

I find it quite hilarious that people look at the average Christian woman to be reserved, quiet, conservatively dressed, unattractive and holding a bible in her hands at all times. She never misses church, teaches religion classes, cooks, bakes and wears her hair up in a bun. I’m sure  her house is immaculate and she has 2 children, a dog and a husband. Member of the PTO, never seen at a bar, and home in bed before 10 every night.

I have personally never seen this woman. 

I am a Christian woman and I have met many strong, beautiful Christian women who also do not fit this stereotype.

 As for me, I have strawberry blonde curly hair which refuses to be contained in a bun, 4 children, a dog, 2 cats and a husband that recently left me. I hate cooking, baking and anything to do with my kitchen. I’m unorganized to a point that I’m almost sure I have undiagnosed ADD. I would much rather flip a house than make sure it was immaculate. I require creativity in my life to feel happy which landed me in the marketing career field. I fly by the seat of my pants and change plans at the drop of a hat. 

What does this mean?

It means your definition comes from God. Don’t let anyone tell you differently.

Be the individual Christian woman God created you to be.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

