Embracing your wild life…..

In getting ready for the average, ordinary workday, I glance into the mirror to find someone staring back at me.

My eyes are suddenly drawn to her. But why?

Is she taller? Are her features more distinctly defined versus yesterday?

I splash water on my face.

Surely there’s something here I’m missing.

I look up only to find her strange face staring back once again.

In my mind an analytical side takes over, running numbers over and over again. Somehow I feel compelled to produce the answer that I’m looking for. The calculator stays stuck at zero.

She looks at me, there is no expression to read, as if I somehow thought a zero would contain one.

Time is running out on solving this mathematical equation,  today’s ordinary prep schedule tells me I must keep moving.

I dress without incident, her image still heavy on my mind.

Continuing my ritual, I’ve picked up the pace. She will be there when I finish my hair, 2 short steps away.

I race through the tasks at hand. More time, I need more time to figure out what it is she’s not trying to say.

My heart begins to race.

What could I possibly have missed when I saw her last. I silently comb over all the details my memory still freshly stores from this mornings short encounter.

One more task, my mind is now pleading with my legs to move at Olympic speed, they accommodate. Suddenly my whole being is consumed with the paradox that has ensued. My fingers reach feverishly towards the blow dryer as the other hand confidently grasps the hairspray. My head automatically flips upside down. These final minutes pass as if they are hours.

It is time. I slowly flip my head up letting my naturally untamed hair fall  into place. The excitement pulses through my vains; her wild eyes now communicating openly. The math equation solved as if the answer, always there.

image

There is a savage smile about her lips. An uninhibited look about her eyes. It’s ravenous and I am now breathing it in as if every breath is somehow transforming me into the wild beast she has become.

Through this highly uncivilized interchange, there is a transformation.

With newfound vigor, I am more than ready to take on the modern day  jungle. I scamper out the door grabbing my newly acquired mental machete.

Finally prepared……I am moving forward into my wild life.

Joshua 1:9

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go. (NIV)

This entry was posted in abuse, Faith, Inspiratiom, Life, Love, motivation, Uncategorized, Verbal abuse and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

