Selfies……Gods selfless challenge?

Oh the selfie

A word that will now go down in history

As a recently divorced woman, I feel I’ve been uncomfortably forced to enter the world of selfies

There are snapchat selfies, dating app selfies, Facebook selfies…..the potential selfie list goes on and on

I’d like to interrupt this post for a meaningless comment…

Fish lips do not look good ON ANYONE after the age of 16…… Do not request a selfie of me with fish lips…..it will NEVER happen!!

So with today’s focus on so many selfies, how can this be a selfless challenge?

I asked myself that same thing as I began to type

But as I am merely the voice from a greater power working through me, I just wait for it to come

And it always does….without fail

Selfie

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

A selfie is a type of self-portrait photograph, typically taken with a hand-held digital camera or camera phone. Selfies are often associated with social networking, like Instagram. They are often casual, are typically taken either with a camera held at arm’s length or in a mirror, and typically include either only the photographer or the photographer and as many people as can be in focus. Selfies taken that involve multiple people are known as “group selfies” or “ussies”.

I’d like to have you read an article that came out in Time magazine regarding selfies. It discusses a teen boy attempting suicide because of failed efforts to capture the perfect selfie…..10 hours a day trying to find his perfect self.

http://time.com/35701/selfie-addict-attempts-suicide/

Less than 5 minutes into this….some things never cease to amaze me

This teenage boy was on a quest to find the perfect self

The perfect selfie?

Perhaps at 6 am when I roll out of bed, looking like a cross between Bette Midler in The Witches of Eastwick and a mug shot from The Bridesmaids movie.

Maybe it’s my Walking Dead look after sitting in a sports gym for 8 hours straight watching the kids

The pic I’d like to show the world of me….

Well that would be the pic of the teenage boy I’m planning to take to supper because he was caught smoking weed in middle school last week…his reasoning? He was stressed

The pic of the woman who lives with the man who verbally and emotionally abuses not only her but also her daughter day after day, and has for 12 years…she requested a prayer from me yesterday. I met 6 months ago…..the first time she tried to leave him. She’s on number 6…..I never tell her what to do….I’m merely here to listen and pray

Or perhaps the woman who was strangled by her husband a month ago, taking him back one week later, knowing her children witnessed the entire thing. Telling her teenage son it was his sexual preference that forced his father to do that to her.. We were more than grateful to provide safe housing for her child during that ordeal

These people capture the selfie nobody can see through a pic taken with a phone. God works through us to help build our inner selfies today, and everyday

I do know that when I ask God to help me lose myself……

He never disappoints

So the next time you send a selfie

Think of that teenage boy…

I pray that God challenges us all to continually work on our inner selfies…

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Faith, motivation, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

