The Human Alarm Clock

Thick

Coarse

Curly

Blonde hair

Always unkempt

Much too long

A direct reflection

Of your persistence

In becoming a rock star

Throughout the night

It has taken over

Decided to take on new heights

In one place

Or another

Every night

Creating a new style

Refusing to conform

To an orderly design

These very strands

Now sleeping

Exhausted from last nights’ work

A new masterpiece to be sure

I softly enter the room

Taking in the moment

Realizing the independence

Its efforts are not wasted on me

How proudly it now slumbers

My hand reaches down

A gentle ruffle

I do so love this moment

The exhale

An acknowledging

Of my attempt

That of being a human alarm clock

I flip on the light

More strands of crazy hair disappear under the covers

A knee jerk reaction every time

Quietly

I walk to the fan

Turn the dial from “high” to “off”

The air in the room

Now thick with anticipation

The fan, the lights, all of the inanimate objects in the room

Holding their breath

Waiting

For what comes next

I turn to you

“Time to wake up buddy”

The words have now spilled out

Absorbed by the room

No response is received from the newly made cocoon

My eyes land

One final time

On that crazy head of hair

Each strand

Waiting for me

My final look

A soft smile forms about my lips

I turn and slowly walk out of the room

Indeed, it is once again, a most beautiful morning

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

