God here…Take a hike!

I remember

Discovering it

A small girl

Walking

On a gravel road

Wondering

What was that sound

Rushing water?

Glancing

In that direction

What would I find down there?

But never brave enough

To step off

And explore

The unknown

Some days

The water sounded so faint

Like it was barely moving

Other times loud

Overpowering

Scary

And still other days

I wouldn’t allow myself to give thought

Of what could be possibly be found

Down there

Always

I’d glance in its direction

Remaining

On the path

On a few special occasions

I’d stare

Directly

Into it

Feel it

Allow it

To swallow me up

Experience its magnetic pull

All the while

Careful

To stay on the path

It always attempted

To draw me in

But, I never took that first step

How would one find the starting place into that world?

 

Many years later

I land

Back

In that same town

Drawn

To that same path

And find my feet

On a gravel road journey

Experiencing that same magnetic pull

Only this time

Finding

That starting point

Venturing

Into that world

Discovering

Something new every time

Realizing

The only thing missing all those years ago

Was Him

He was the one

Encouraging me

To Take A Hike!

This entry was posted in Challenge, commitment, Creativity, Faith, happiness, Inspiration, Life, Love, motivation, Reflection, Relationship, silence, Smile, Support, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

